Child Carein Utah:
A Short Report on Subsidies, Affordability and Supply

This report summarizes recent child care information for the state of Utah. The first section
provides new information on child care subsidies, based on eligibility estimates generated by the
Urban Institute and state administrative data reported to the U.S. Department of Health and
Human Services (HHS). The second two parts, on affordability and supply, draw on state and
local data collected by the Urban Institute during the summer of 1999 under contract with HHS.
A companion document to the national report entitled “Access to Child Care for Low-Income
Working Families,” the Utah report is one in a series of nine state reports.

|. Child Care Subsidies

Figure 1. Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) Eligibility and Receipt in Utah

Children by Family Type (Aver age Monthly Estimates)

With Working Parents 271,000

Eligible for CCDF Subsidies
if Limits at Federal Max 130,000

Eligible for CCDF Subsidies
under State Limits 53,000

Receiving CCDF Subsidies 13,000

Sources: Urban Institute simulations and state administrative data reported to the Child Care Bureau.

a 271,000 children under age 13 (or under age 19 if disabled) live in families where the family
head (and spouse if present) isworking or isin an education or training program, as shown in
Figure 1. Children acrossal family income levels are included in this estimate. Most of
these children (259,000) are under age 13 and living with working parents.*

o 53,000 of these children, and 33,000 families, are estimated to meet Utah’ s income guidelines
for child care assistance under the Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) October 1997
state plan. The eligibility estimate would more than double — 130,000 children —if Utah
raised income eligibility limits to 85 percent of State Median Income, the maximum level
alowed under Federal law.?

To be eligible under Utah’s October 1997 state plan, afamily of 3 had to have income
below $21,108, or 56 percent of State Median Income.

Nearly all eligible children (95 percent) live in families with annual income below 200
percent of the Federal poverty threshold and more than two-fifths (42 percent) are living
in poverty. About 4 percent live in families that report receiving cash welfare.

Most (46,000) eligible children are under age 13 with working parents; the remaining
children have parents in education/training programs or are disabled youth under 19.
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a 13,000 children in Utah received child care subsidies funded by CCDF in an average month
in 1998. This estimate suggests that 25 percent of the eligible population under state limits
(and 10 percent of children who would be eligible under the Federal maximum limits) were
served with CCDF funds. In addition, Utah’s state administrative data system indicates that
100 children were served with other Federal and state funds.®

In Utah, nearly half (48 percent) of child care settings receiving funds from CCDF in
1998 were center-based settings, as shown in Figure 2. The next most common settings
were family child care homes (28 percent). The remaining settings include care by
relatives (15 percent), care in group homes (6 percent) and in-home care by non-relatives
(6 percent).’

Figure 2. Child Care Settings Subsidized by CCDF in Utah
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Source: State administrative data for April-September 1998 reported to the Child Care Bureau.

o The Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) is the major source of Federal funding
allocated to states to subsidize the child care expenses of low- and moderate-income families
so they can work, or attend education or training programs. Using CCDF dollars along with
state funds, Utah has designed its own child care program within broad parameters specified
under federal law. CCDF-funded subsidies, and the number of children that the state reported
were served with these subsidies, are highlighted in this report because CCDF is a primary
source of funding in most states. Also, CCDF administrative datais the most comparable
source of child care data across states. 1t should be noted, however, that Utah, like many
other states, also uses other funding sources to provide child care subsidies.

o Nowaiting list for government subsidies has been maintained since 1996 in Utah. All
families who currently apply receive subsidies. In 1996, Utah changed its eligibility criteria
so that low-income, non-welfare families participating in education or training are no longer
eligible for subsidies.” State staff believe that there are igible families that do not apply for
subsidies. Thisbelief is corroborated by staff from Child Care Resource and Referral~Metro,
the child care resource and referral agency serving Salt Lake and Tooele Counties.

1. Affordability®

o Pricesfor child care vary considerably, by such factors as geographic area, type of provider
and age of child. Figure 3 shows the average monthly prices for child carein Salt Lake
County, Utah. Given that these are average prices, it is clear that many families pay more or
less than this amount.

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 11/99 2



o Centersin Salt Lake County, Utah charge an average of $392 per month for preschool care
and $508 per month for infant care, as shown in Figure 3. This means that a family with
$15,000 in income and one preschool child in an average-priced center would spend close to
one-third (31 percent) of itstotal monthly income on child care expenses. Average-priced
infant care would represent an even higher share (41 percent) of monthly income for afamily
earning $15,000.

a Family child care homes in Utah charge an average of $345 per month for preschool children
and $392 per month for infants. This means that a family with $15,000 in income and one
child in an average-priced family child care home would spend 28 percent of its monthly
income on care for a preschool child or 31 percent for an infant.

o Familieswho receive child care subsidies usually pay much smaller monthly co-payments
rather than the full market rate. In Utah, the state pays parents directly for their child care
costs. State payments to families are determined by actual provider charges, up to a
maximum state rate, and then reduced by an adjustment (i.e., co-payment) amount. The
adjustment amount is determined by family size, adjusted gross income and the number of
children in care.

For example, Utah would reduce its payment to afamily of three with $15,000 in income
and one child in care by $10, as shown in Figure 3.

In Utah, cash welfare (TANF) assistance is not counted as income in determining the
family’ s adjustment. Payments to families receiving cash assistance and families with
annual income below the poverty line are not reduced by a family adjustment.

Figure 3. Child Care Pricesand Co-Paymentsfor a Hypothetical Salt L ake County, Utah
Family of Three Earning $15,000 with One Child in Care

WITHOUT SUBSIDY WITH SUBSIDY
Average % of Income  Monthly % of Income*
Monthly (Family Income Adjustment* (Family Income
Prices(Ful  ©°f $15000 (If receive of $15,000
Time Care) Annually) subsidy) Annually)
INFANT (1 year)
Center-based $508 40.7% $10 0.8%
Family child carehome**  $392 31.3% $10 0.8%
PRESCHOOLER (4 years)
Center-based $392 31.3% $10 0.8%
Family child carehome**  $345 27.6% $10 0.8%

*  State policy does not prevent providers from charging parents additional amounts, above the co-payment, if
the providers' rates exceed the state reimbursement level. Figuresin this table represent the minimum co-
payment.

**  Average prices for family homes contain prices for group homes.

Source:  Data collected by the Urban Institute from Child Care Resource and Referral~Metro, the child care resource
and referral agency serving Salt Lake County, Utah, summer 1999.

a State policy does not prevent providers from charging parents additional amounts if the
providers' rates exceed the state reimbursement level. For example, the maximum CCDF
rate for preschool center carein Salt Lake County, Utah is $378 per month’, which is $14 less
than the $392 average price shown in Figure 3. If the $14 differential is paid by the family,
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the total cost to the family is $24 per month, or more than twice official family adjustment of
$10 shown in Figure 3. If the feeis not charged to the family, the provider loses $14 per
month for providing service to a subsidized child. The differential could be much larger than
$14 for some child care centers, including accredited centers and other centers with higher
than average rates.

Gapsin Child Care Supply®

According to the state plan for 1997-1999, maximum reimbursement rates in Utah are capped
at the 75™ percentile of market rate, based on biennial market rate surveys. Providersin Utah
may be unwilling to accept subsidized children, or may limit their enrollment, when the state
reimbursement rates are lower than their prices (see the examplein section I1). Asaresult,
families receiving subsidies may have limited choices of caregivers. However, as of the
summer of 1999, in Salt Lake and Tooele Counties in Utah, all regular child care providers
did accept subsidies, according to staff at Child Care Resource and Referral~Metro, a child
care resource and referral agency serving those areas. The resource and referral agency did
not have any information about acceptance of subsidies among accredited and odd-hour
providers.

Staff from the resource and referral agency report shortages in Salt Lake and Tooele Counties
in the supply of infant/toddler care, school-age care, and care for children who have special
needs or areill. Specifically:

Infant/toddler careishard to find in Salt Lake County. The resource and referral
agency did a study of infant/toddler care slots and vacanciesin 1991. Overall only 14
percent of all dotsfor children less than three years old were vacant throughout the
county. The densely populated Northeast Quadrant of the county had a vacancy rate of
lessthan 5 percent.

School-age careis available only in certain locations in Salt Lake and Tooele Counties.
In the areas surrounding some schools, the resource and referral agency does not list a
single licensed family home or center provider that provides school-age care.

According to staff at Child Care Resource and Referral~Metro, no provider in Utah
registered with aresource and referral agency reports offering care for sick children.
Parents of children who have special needs report that it is nearly impossible to find
qualified care for their children, and little training is available in Utah to help providers
prepare for special needs children. When asked by the resource and referral agency, less
than one-fifth (17 percent) of providersin Salt Lake and Tooele Counties said they were
comfortable taking special needs children. Most of these providers felt they were not
suited to care for profoundly disabled children.

Sources

! Estimate based on microsimulations using the Urban Institute’'s TRIM3 model, guidelinesin the state’s
1997-99 CCDF tate plan, and three years of Current Population Survey data (calendar years 1995-97).
2 .

Ibid.
3 Estimates based on state administrative data reported to the Child Care Bureau on and adjusted to reflect
children funded through CCDF only. 1998 figures based on April-September 1998.
4 .

Ibid.

® Waiting list data were obtained and compiled by the Urban Institute from the Utah Department of

Workforce Services, the state child care agency.
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® Information in this section was obtained and compiled by the Urban Institute from the Child Care
Resource and Referral~Metro (a child care resource and referral agency serving Salt Lake and Tooele
Counties).

" State maximum rates were obtained and compiled by the Urban Institute from the Utah Department of
Workforce Services, summer 1999.

8 Information in this section was obtained and compiled by the Urban Institute from Child Care Resource
and Referral~Metro.
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